Help with possibly fake Elixir Nanoweb strings please!

What's Hot
hasslehamhassleham Frets: 607
I've done some research into this on google before posting but a lot of the info online is on acoustic strings and not Electric Nanowebs. I'm by no means a string connoisseur and i've never used coated strings before, so unsure what to look out for!

I've always sworn by Ernie Ball Slinky Strings (had a lot of issues with snapping other brands) but I decided to buy some Elixirs for my main strat as I was told by the previous owner when i bought it that it had elixirs on, and they've lasted incredibly well since I then (I did about 6 gigs on original set without them feeling worn out).

I ordered a pack of 3 nanoweb 10's from Amazon and put a set on my strat just before Christmas. Played one gig with them and had no issues but got to the New Year's Eve gig and snapped the B string in the first song! This was the first red flag, so I had a closer look at another packet and I can't see any coating on the strings at all, and there are some other issues which compare to the fakes posted online. Also, i've looked back at my Amazon order and discovered that they weren't sold directly by amazon, and they actually came from a seller in China (another red flag!)

Like I said, i'm no expert, so i've attached some photos and hoping to get some confirmation before I chase Amazon for a refund.
Am I right in thinking that you should be able to see some coating even on Nanoweb strings?

Cheers

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Balrog68Balrog68 Frets: 100
    edited January 2020
    I've only used elixir Nanowebs once and I couldn't see the coating either but could definitely feel it and they should obviously be lasting longer.
    They don't sound like legit Nanowebs and I'd be contacting amazon... They're not cheap strings! 
    Personally, I would never buy strings online, unless it was direct from a a reputable music store.