Reaper or Audacity?

2»

Comments

• monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17626
    tFB Trader
    I've had a load of problems with Audacity doing weird stuff like distorting audio and dropping out. 

Also Audacity doesn't work with multiple inputs or ASIO unless you recompile it from source.

Reaper is great and very inexpensive. You can try it out without paying.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • PolarityManPolarityMan Frets: 7292
    Danny1969 said:
    Reaper doesn't actually need you to buy it at all, I've been evaluating it for about 6 years now :)

Does the nag screen tell you how long youve been using it still? I remember I clocked up 7000 hours and then  figured that they probably deserved my cash cash and bought a licence :)
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1636

Hi Viz,

The fact that you did not know how to turn off the internal microphone in the laptop tells me that you have some work to do before you embark on this project!

First off it really does not matter what software you use for recording but I would go with Reaper.

Re the internal mic. If you have a proper Audio Interface properly setup in the software the mic would never show up!

As for getting your arse in a sling if this thing goes tits up? NO professional recording bod would trust to just ONE recording system! Especially for a one off, live event. Oh it CAN work! Some 6 months ago I just left my HP i3 lappy and NI KA6 interface running Samplitude Silver at a jam night (co-I pair of AKG P150s) and it grabbed 3hours+ with nary a flicker. But THAT was not mission critical!

A backup could be a Dolby cassette machine and bribe somebody to feed it C 90s (don't go cheap, don't flip them!) . Can you get hold of a hard drive video recorder? Feed the line inputs on that and you have hours of recording and zero chance of failure. Not PC quality, quite, I grant you but ANY recording is better than none.