Synth/Keys Emulation

What's Hot
VaiaiVaiai Frets: 530
Looking for something that can do keys but not wanting to go midi...lots of people are asking for songs for weddings from us which have keys and we are a 2 guitar band.
Most recent ones are a Brandon Flowers song which has a Bronski beat sample all thru it and then this classic, Electric Dreams:

Any pedal or unit I can get that would do a decent job?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• VaiaiVaiai Frets: 530
    I have a Helix too but not found much online that can get close although I am no expert in the synth side of it - hardly spent any time with those features

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33804
    edited February 2020
    Just learn to play the synth parts on a keyboard.
    You can buy something for a couple of hundred quid and most pop/rock keyboard parts are an afternoon's work to learn.

If you don't want to do that then just play the parts on guitar and don't worry about emulating the sound- just play the right notes.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • WhitecatWhitecat Frets: 5433
    Something from the Boss SY series perhaps? They just released a '1000' which is the latest and greatest but also the spendiest. There are some pretty sick demos on YouTube of the SY300 though - maybe that's enough for you - and has been out long enough to probably be findable secondhand at a good price.

• octatonic said:
    You can buy something for a couple of hundred quid and most pop/rock keyboard parts are an afternoon's work to learn.

If you don't want to do that then just play the parts on guitar and don't worry about emulating the sound- just play the right notes.

This..... ^^^

I am playing Journey's Separate Ways synth parts on guitar..  purists may balk but it's a great song and "our" interpretation. ;-)
    My trading feedback

is it crazy how saying sentences backwards creates backwards sentences saying how crazy it is?