Recording via Headrush - USB - help!

I'm a complete novice to recording but my son wanted to record a guitar part for his music course at school so I was trying to get the Headrush to connect to the program they are using - Audacity - but completely failed. I managed to get the DAW to see the Headrush in the input options (plugged in via USB, set to input to a DAW in the HR Global settings, installed the latest Windows drivers) but couldn't get any sound to register...any suggestions for things to try?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TheBigDipperTheBigDipper Frets: 4784
    I've got a home DAW setup with a PreSonus iTwo audio interface into either a MacBook Pro (Logic Pro) or an iPad (GarageBand for iPad), so I know the software end of my setup is working. 

I've just started experimenting using my recently-purchased HR Gigboard as an audio interface, to see what it can do. I'm connecting to the Mac with a USB cable and to the iPad with the USB cable into an Apple Camera Kit (essentially a USB-to-Lightening convertor). I don't know everything, but here's what I've done so far... It applies to both the Mac and the iPad - they're working the same. 

Like you, I'm using DAW in the Global Setting for USB audio. Did you set the USB Audio from OFF to ON, BTW? Easy mistake (DAMHIK, OK?). I don't think your computer would "see" the HR if you hadn't, but you never know... 

So, first thing I did was test my ability to play back music. Can you hear audio on the HR headphones o/p if you play a YouTube clip, for example? That will tell you that the hardware is working for playback purposes.