Is it normal for me to re-tune my guitars THIS much? When i started practicing with my two guitars(R

What's Hot
When i started practicing with my two guitars(Rogue RD-80 and Jackson JS-22 Dinky) I found myself having to tune them every time I pick them up to practice with them. I practice with both every day. Which means that I tune them both every day. But today I had some extra time on my hands and I had three different practice sessions with about 20-30 minutes each practice session today.  I basically gave myself an hour break between sessions and did some other stuff so my fingers aren't too sore at the end of the day.  But EVERY SINGLE TIME, I had to RETUNE my two guitars again. My only explanation for them going out of tune is probably because the more you use guitar strings, the more they stretch. My strings are fairly new so I'm assuming they'll be like that for a bit. Both guitars sound great once they're tuned, and there is nothing structurally wrong with them. Both are in perfect condition. What are ya'all's thoughts on this? Is it normal to have to retune your guitar after putting it down for only an hour?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• munckeemunckee Frets: 12368
    Do you stretch your strings in when changing, makes a massive difference.  temperature in the room might play a part too.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 8reaction image Wisdom
  • scrumhalfscrumhalf Frets: 11303
    I agree, room temp makes a bug difference to tuning stability.

Have you checked the tuning when you put the guitars down? You may be a little heavier-handed than you realise. 
  • skunkwerxskunkwerx Frets: 6881
    Its probably temp. All mine are slightly off when I pick them up daily, but after a warm up session its in tune or close. 

I fully stretch them in when changing strings mind.