How important is string gauge consistency across your guitars?

What's Hot

Comments

• JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6394
    Elixir 10s on all my solid bodies & 335, TI Jazz Swing flatwound 12s on hollow bodies.

Acoustics - D'Addario Gypsy 10s of the Maccaferri style, and Elixir 12s Acoustics on rest
    Imagine something sharp and witty here ......

Feedback
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • PhilKingPhilKing Frets: 1486
    edited March 2020
    I use a custom 10-46 set on Fenders and 11-48/50 on Gibsons.  I've been using Kerly 50's Nickel for a few years. but just got some custom sets of Kurt Mangan strings and might start using them.  I use the different gauges to keep the feel similar on the different scale lengths.
  • 10’s on all electrics 12’s on acoustics , why would you want a les Paul to feel like your strat when playing it?
    www.maltingsaudio.co.uk
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • skinfreakskinfreak Frets: 205
    edited March 2020
    I use 9s on my main Strat and 10s on my DGT. This gives a similar tension on both guitars which makes swapping between them easier.
    Sacrilege! Get those DGT 11s back on there! HERESY!

But seriously, it's very dependant on the guitar. I got my DGT and loved the 11s (not true 11s, they're a weird hybrid 11-49s). So much that I put them on my Tremonti SE. Same scale but different neck and frets. Don't like the 11s on there and will drop back to 10s. 

My American Special Strat has jumbo frets like the DGT and I am tempted to try the DGT 11s but there is a half inch difference in the scale so my hunch is they won't work as well. I used to like 9-46s on my old Jackson Dinky. My daughters Squire Mustang has 10s and they're like floppy fish. She seem to like them but then again doesn't know what she's talking about. 

I notice the string tension difference so that's the constant for me to aim for, bulk buying one gauge would not work for me.