Improving the magazines...

What's Hot
124»

Comments

• RocknRollDaveRocknRollDave Frets: 6499
    @Elx

Hi mate - my missus is Dutch (Hup Holland...)

Quick question - what value do you think you get from a physical magazine that you don't get from the internet? 

The tactile pleasure of flicking through glossy pictures of guitars etc.

Clearly that's not enough for some people, but I like it.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ElxElx Frets: 412
    @Elx

Quick question - what value do you think you get from a physical magazine that you don't get from the internet? 

The tactile pleasure of flicking through glossy pictures of guitars etc.

Clearly that's not enough for some people, but I like it.
    Hup Holland Hup ;) 

What Rocknrolldave said...plus,I am self taught. I've learned everything I know from guitar magazines. And if you've been doing this for 20 years, you can learn a lot :)

I remember lessons from Guitar player magazine, Arlen Roth, Arnie Berle, Tommy Tedesco. Then came Paul Gilbert, Vai transcriptions etc, theory articles, technique discussions. This is before Youtube and internet. And I've kept the habit, lately it's been Guitar techniques. The joy of getting a new issue and going through lessons is something special, it's like I've never grown up. I subscribe to Premier guitar on my Ipad but the experience is very different, let's just say I could live without it...

Also, I do office work and the last thing I need when I get home is spending hours in front of a computer again. A guitar on my lap, a magazine and I'm happy...
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Phil_aka_PipPhil_aka_Pip Frets: 9794
    @Elx

What @Jetfire said, plus I can read it in bed with the cat sitting on me.
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • 57Deluxe57Deluxe Frets: 7339