Antoria 70s Teles ?

What's Hot
PeteCPeteC Frets: 409
edited April 2020 in Guitar
Hi 

does anyone here own a 70s Antoria Tele?     I had one as my first “real” guitar and in hindsight it was a really good quality Tele.  Interested to know if anyone has one and what you think of it ?      
Mine was a cream body with a maple board.  It played extremely well. 

I have been looking around for another to buy for sentimental reasons but not found one yet.  

cheers 
Pete 

Edit - sorted the Antoria typo! 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JezWyndJezWynd Frets: 6118
    Do you mean Antoria? My first electric was an Antoria LP Studio. Very good guitar in hindsight; good neck, exceptional action, powerful pickups, good tuners etc. though very heavy. I had no concept of electric guitar playing at the time, having self taught via chord charts in the Bob Dylan Songbook on a Fender F25. I don’t often see old Antorias offered for sale. Good luck in your search.
  • HenrytwangHenrytwang Frets: 473
    Antoria guitars were one of the better 1970s Japanese copy brands , usually well made from quality materials.
  • merlinmerlin Frets: 6753
    Antoria made some excellent instruments and spectacular copies back then. I currently have an Antoria "Hummingbird" that's a fine instrument. Too big for me as I prefer a smaller bodied acoustic nowadays but a lovely thing nonetheless. I used to own an Antoria ES-175 type guitar which was made in the FujiGen plant. It was amazing, ought to have kept it but there you go....

• mark123mark123 Frets: 1327
    I tried a couple years ago 
    they were dogs
    Your money is best spent on a thommann te52 or a classic vibe 

sentiment is a strange thing 

my first guitar was a satellite les paul bolt on with a action like a cheese grater

i wont be hunting one of them down  =)

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72680