How do you know if you have overcooked your nut slotting?

What's Hot
Are there tell tale signs? I'm a real newbie to the art of sorting nuts.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72364
    If the string is too low relative to the first fret.

Fret the string at the third fret and look at the gap between the string and the first fret - it should be tiny, but there should be one.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• WezVWezV Frets: 16681
    It will buzz on the first fret.   Stop just before it does
    7reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • brucegillbrucegill Frets: 720
    When your getting close, put a pencil mark along the slot - you can then see you have the ramp correct and know when you’ve actually taken some off the front edge. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • brucegillbrucegill Frets: 720
    edited April 2020
    axisus said:
    Are there tell tale signs? I'm a real newbie to the art of sorting nuts.
    When you swear out load and try and find the superglue. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • WhistlerWhistler Frets: 322
    Somewhere around 30 thou on the lower E and 20 thou on the top E, with the others on a sliding scale between these values, is likely to be as low as you want to go until you know your guitar and your personal choice well enough.
  • axisusaxisus Frets: 28338
    Whistler said:
    Somewhere around 30 thou on the lower E and 20 thou on the top E, with the others on a sliding scale between these values, is likely to be as low as you want to go until you know your guitar and your personal choice well enough.