Absolute beginner

I'm very new to all this home recording malarkey. I want to start playing around with recording some guitars and bass, and adding some virtual drums to make tracks. I'd also like to be able to play around with amp sims on the PC so I can put in headphones and practice silently.

What do I need as a bare minimum? I have a pretty good (Windows) laptop, headphones, do I just need an audio interface?

I want to be able to put it together as cheaply as possible without sacrificing ease of use.
Just so people are aware. I have no idea what any of these words mean.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Bill_SBill_S Frets: 102
    Yep, an audio interface to get your guitar into the pc, and then there’s a decent choice of free Digital Audio Workstations (DAWs) out there to get you started. Some will come with an amp sim included and virtual drums. The best free virtual drum VST I know is MT Power Drum Kit. I’ve been using Daws for 20 years, and have a number of high end virtual drum instruments, but I still use MT - it really is excellent. Waveform free is my DAW recommendation, but there are others. 
  • ricorico Frets: 1220
    You need a DAW (Reaper is powerful and free/very cheap if you decide to buy) and an interface. If you want to plug your guitar directly into the PC to use sims and the ability to plug in microphones to record 'live' guitar you need something like a Presonus Audiobox (probably the cheapest two input interface that takes instrument level and mic level inputs). That also comes with a lite version of Studio One DAW.

I use EzDrummer 2 (there is a free demo) but have heard that MT drums are really good too (and free).

It's very simple to get up and running these days. Plenty of knowledgeable folk on here to help out!
  • My sure I'll be too bothered about mic'ing up amps in the room for now, as the room itself isn't the biggest and I struggle to fit an amp in anyway.