C6 lap steel tone bar

What's Hot
Dear all,
I'm new to the C6 lap steel and have been struggling with using a bullet style tone bar. Essentially I find it difficult to physically lift the bar due to its weight and size. Could someone kindly recommend alternatives that may be more ergonomic?
Thanks in advance to all who reply. 
Trevor Joe 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• english_bobenglish_bob Frets: 5142
    I have a similarly shaped bar. It was the first one I bought so I don't know how it compares to a bullet one, but it's quite easy to manipulate. I didn't spend forty quid on it though.

I think the shape will make more difference than the weight within reason- the bar needs to have a decent amount of mass to do its job, but being able to grip it better makes the weight less of an issue.

Don't talk politics and don't throw stones. Your royal highnesses.

• Jimbro66Jimbro66 Frets: 2429
    trevjo7 said:
    Dear all,
    I'm new to the C6 lap steel and have been struggling with using a bullet style tone bar. Essentially I find it difficult to physically lift the bar due to its weight and size. Could someone kindly recommend alternatives that may be more ergonomic?
    Thanks in advance to all who reply. 
    Trevor Joe 
    Is your tone bar one made for lap steel or the bigger heavier type that pedal steel players use? When playing lap steel you shouldn't be lifting the bar other than to tilt it and play single notes with the tip. If you'd really like a bar that you can lift but still suitable for lap steel, rather than dobro, the Shubb SP2 is a good choice 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • merlinmerlin Frets: 6682
    Yup, I agree with Jimbro. The Shubb SP2 is good. Whatever you get, make sure it has a rounded tip, not a square tip. You'll need that for single note tipping. 
  • ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11894