Fingerboard and bridge radii

What's Hot
For a fingerboard radius of 13.75” (350mm) 

Which bridge would you go with:
 a 12” (300mm) radius (steeper, higher G and D)
or
15.74” (400mm) radius (flatter, higher E Strings)

Are there practical considerations that would make you prefer one over the other?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LebarqueLebarque Frets: 3886
    I'm not an expert on this, but I asked a similar question recently and the consensus seemed to be a flatter bridge works really well. Have a look here:

https://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/185800/12-radius-bridge-with-9-5-neck#latest
  • JonathangusJonathangus Frets: 4558
    Trading feedback | How to embed images using Imgur

As for "when am I ready?"  You'll never be ready.  It works in reverse, you become ready by doing it.  - pmbomb

• SteveRobinsonSteveRobinson Frets: 7058
    tFB Trader
    Definitely the latter, which should work well.

Once you have the bass side raised a little higher than the treble the increase in string height should be nicely progressive across the board.
  • jaymenonjaymenon Frets: 828
    edited July 2020
    Thanks guys, it’s interesting that both bridges are made by Gotoh.

GE103B (Nashville): 12” (300mm) radius

GE104B (ABR1): 15.75” (400mm) radius

why on earth would they flatten the radius for the ABR1 type? And by doing so, making it incompatible with the majority of Gibson Type Guitars...?

[Imgur](https://i.imgur.com/IciQJfP.jpg?1)
    [Imgur](https://i.imgur.com/zpUcaKB.jpg?1)

they also make it very, very difficult to flip the saddles (The bolts on the end are superglued). 

I never figured out why Gotoh make the first three saddles one way and the 4, 5 & 6 saddles face the other way.

I would’ve flipped 3, 5 & 6

edited July 2020 tFB Trader
    I put the Gotoh ABR-1 on my recent build which has a 12" radius, it gives a good string height on every string. 

The flatter radius makes it *more* compatible, not less.