Midi keyboard for Reaper

MartinBushMartinBush Frets: 252
edited July 2020 in Studio & Recording
Hi all

I've touched on this elsewhere, but I just want to get a few things clear before I jump in.

I have started recording using Reaper, and it seems to be quite easy for now. I am treating it like tape really - nothing fancy, just record one bit, then the next.

At this stage I would like to try to programme some drums and I think that the way to do this would be using a midi keyboard. I hope that's right?

I have looked at two options so far:

Akai LPK 25 
Akai MPK 25II mini

I am running Reaper on a Windows 7 machine and I have no plans to change the operating system.

Would either of these keyboards work? Apologies if this seems like a question with an obvious answer, but I've never used midi before and am not up to speed with what works with what.

I am not wedded to Akai, and would welcome suggestions for other models, but I am very much looking at that price range and size. I can't play keyboard as such so I don't think I need a full sized one (I don't have the space either). I may decide to try a few basic keyboard parts in future, but it will almost certainly be one finger stuff or possibly very basic chords.

I have done quite well so far, with much help from this forum, putting bits of kit together and getting it working and I hope when I do get a keyboard I can do the same.

Martin

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• andy_kandy_k Frets: 818
    I have a couple, an Akai MPK mini, and an Xkey.
    I bought the Akai, because it had a few nice features, the pads are good for beating out a rough rhythm, but the keyboard is a bit small and cheap feeling. It has a load of assignable knobs, which is useful. I installed the software it came with-which was a bit old school, but a lot of sounds, I never really dug into it.