Recording guitars for reamping

What's Hot
We've got studio time booked and to save time the done thing these days seems to be to record guitars in advance for reamping. I've never done this before. I don't have amp modelling software but do have a DAW. This may sound primitive/stupid but would the following work? : 

Run the guitar into a signal splitter with one going into the amp so I can hear what I'm doing and the other going into the DAW to record the clean signal. Then whilst making edits to the recorded signal, run the audio out of the headphone/speaker output on the audio interface into the input on the amp. 

If this isn't going to work I'll just have to record the guitars in the studio like the good old days. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33799
    Track dry through a low latency modelling plugin.
    That’s it- your signal won’t be recorded wet, you use the dry signal to reamp.
  • EddieVNEddieVN Frets: 1
    octatonic said:
    My music PC is so old and laggy I don't know if it would handle recording whilst running a plug in. I'm using FL, and to be honest if I'm going to have to start getting plugins etc I'd rather just record the guitars in the studio like normal. Would my method suggested above not work? 
  • ChrisRGChrisRG Frets: 55
    Others with much more experience than me on this may have a better suggestion but....

If you've got a DAW (and I assume and interface), then why not get an amp VST (virtual instrument)?  I've used Scuffhams S-Gear but there are also free ones out there.  You'll already have the DI guitar signal into your DAW, so you can just add the amp model and turn on monitoring to hear what an amped/effected guitar sounds like.

I use Studio One and before I got my Helix, all of my Solo of the Month stuff was done with guitar DI into the DAW with Scuffhams S-Gear amps.

Once you've got the DI guitar, you can copy the track to add different sounds etc.