OS Rant

What's Hot
This is just a bit of a rant, and a plea for some advice.
I have been making music, or maybe noise, with computers for about 20 years, I never got into midi or keyboards so it was all about loops and samples on my first machines, I started on windows 3.1.
I did most of my recording on 4 track tape machines, and then early digital things like Boss recorders and Tascam multitrack devices.
In 2009 I got my first Macbook pro, and the intention was for it to be devoted to music production with Logic.
I did a music degree about 3 and a half years ago, half of the course was on Mac and Logic, and half was on Protools and Mac.
I have been quite happy with the evolution of the tech, but all that changed when I tried to get used to PT, I was continually being told it was the only serious piece of software for music recording, whilst being simultaneously being told the same thing about Logic.
I kind of went along with it for about 18 months, but then when I saw the prices of new Apple gear, and also the cost of a PT subscription without the student discount, I knew I would have to find an alternative, if I wanted to continue.
Which is when I discovered Reaper, and as soon as I got an idea of how it compared to the others, I thought I would devote time to getting to know it much better.
I did all my last years Uni work on Reaper, on both PC and Mac, and there is nothing that it could not do.
Now I am a year out of the degree, and I am still looking at ways to make sure I can continue using the computer to make music.
Given what we are all going through, there seems to be no money to be made in music, at all, for the forseeable future - for most of us.
I still do it for the enjoyment, and escapism, but my plans to build up a recording business have evaporated.
I have never been able to afford a new system, and have always upgraded to get what I needed.