Fretboard repair

What's Hot

Comments

• WezVWezV Frets: 16671
    You need a saw thats 0.022" or ever so slightly wider.  Don't go 0.02" as a tang wider than the slot will introduce back bow into the neck.   

Although you may find one sold as 0.02 is actually slightly wider as manufacturing tolerances and not that great 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • WezVWezV Frets: 16671
    Also  if you can make those aluminum sanding beams at a reasonable price you would probably find a few buyers ;)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72322
    WezV said:
    Also  if you can make those aluminum sanding beams at a reasonable price you would probably find a few buyers ;)
    They would be a very good professional tool and I’m quite sure there would be a substantial market for them.

I assume @Jazzthat - you’re a skilled machine tool worker by trade? My dad used to run a small engineering company and employed men who could turn out things like that...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• WezV said:
    You need a saw thats 0.022" or ever so slightly wider.  Don't go 0.02" as a tang wider than the slot will introduce back bow into the neck.   

Although you may find one sold as 0.02 is actually slightly wider as manufacturing tolerances and not that great 
    I heard someone on other forum saying that it is only a fraction less ( 0.020" )  , but it'll cause problems when you cut all slots like it .

Now I see why this actually might be a really bad idea ...

0.022" slitting saw goes on tooling list !
  • JazzthatJazzthat Frets: 163
    edited September 2020
    @ICBM and @WezV ;

I work as a CNC miller and could make few things myself .