Learning solos on the guitar

What's Hot
As I see it, if you play in a tribute band, then you have to get everything right.  Right by the record.  Or CD.  The people attending the show will be very familiar with the solos and most details about the band's songs.

I don't or didn't play in a tribute band so my approach is to play something in the spirit of the song.  When I started playing guitar I had no way of studying a solo and most of my work was an attempt to play what I heard on the radio.  I discovered early on that the first half dozen notes were the most critical - get those right and I could get away with playing almost anything.  Folsum Prison Blues for example.  I never could remember the solo ending so I made up my own finish.  Now with online tutors showing how it was played, I cannot unlearn my version and learn it the *right* way.  In a lot of ways, online tutors can be a PITA as they focus on every minute detail.  It is harder to get a flow going if you are concentrating on getting every detail right by the recording.

How do you approach playing other people's solos:
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• vizviz Frets: 10694
    edited September 2020
    It’s fine to approximate imo - most players play different solos live. They have the essence of the recording but they often embellish. 
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.