Taking on a 'project' when you have zero skills...

What's Hot
McTootMcToot Frets: 2042
edited November 2020 in Making & Modding
Those of you that know me know that I'm mainly found on the classifieds, main guitar pages and off topic. I rarely stray into this area as I am thoroughly unskilled  - useless even - on the whole making and modding thing. I am to soldering what donkeys are to the Grand National. And what I know about setting a guitar up could be written on a tooth pick. 

So what do I do? I go and buy a guitar that quite clearly needs a lot of TLC. Triffic. 

I couldn't resist, though: the guitar in question is a 1983 MIJ Ibanez Destroyer (A DT 150, I think) in a very sorry state. Bashed to buggery in all the usual places for a pointy thing and sporting more grime that Stormzy and Dizzee Rascal combined. The wiring is also shot and the pickup wire is severed. But I started playing guitar in 1983 and when I had hair I loved to swoosh it about in a head-banging stylee, so... Plus, I think it was cheap. 

The plan is to send it off to our own Welsh wizard for a re-fin and then to try and clean the rest of it up, maybe replacing the pickup, bridge, electric and tuners in the process. On the upside, the neck appears to be stright (but please refer my limitations above) and the frets are good, if filthy. 

So I'm looking for advice on:

De-filthing the bridge, tuners, neck and frets?
What pots are likely to be in there (metric, Imperial, long shaft, etc)?

And would love a straw poll on suggested finishes (currently leading is purple or orange flake or a more ambitious Japanese, red on white rising sun type of affair). 

Here is the ugly little basket:

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder

My trading feedback  - I'm a good egg  ;) 

0reaction image LOL 7reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• McToot said: