re Heat Shrink

What's Hot
surfguy13surfguy13 Frets: 133
Hi Guys

I have to tidy up some wiring on an old thinline tele and I was told that heat shrink was the best option but I've never used it before.  Essentially all I want to do is tie together a steel braided wire from a humbucker and a plastic wire.....combined they are about 3.8mm. 

I notice that heat shrink comes in tubes which, I assume, are fed over wires prior to soldering?  As I don't want to de-solder if I can avoid it can I cut the heat shrink, wrap it around the wires and then apply heat?  Will this work? 

If this can be done what sort of size heat shrink would I need to get if the wires combined are 3.8mm bearing in mind I would have to slit the heat shrink tube open to wrap around the wire? 

Many thanks!  :)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• NervousJohnNervousJohn Frets: 191
    Won't work. If you cut it the heat shrink tube it will pull apart when you shrink it down.

Bending a 180 degree bend maybe a solution but I wouldn't recommend it for the long term as tight bends stress the wire and can lead to breakages. Insulating tape is probably the way forward here. Or cutting and soldering.
  • MegiiMegii Frets: 1670
    I doubt it would work cutting the heat shrink, although I've not tried that I admit. Another simple solution is just to use one or more of those plastic cable ties - that works for me when tidying up the wiring after a soldering job.

For example:

• mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700

The heatshirk is supplied in a tube so it can shrink to the size of the cable. If you try cutting and wrapping it simply won't work.

Best is to slide some over the wire before soldering, when you've done to soldering slide it down to cover the joint and heat the heatshrink gently (I use a lighter, some use a gas soldering iron) instead of wrapping the joint in electrical tape.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21)