Valve Amp Building Kits - new project

What's Hot
russpmrusspm Frets: 443
edited February 2021 in Amps
I fancy having a go at building my own amp, preferably a head. I’ve seen and heard good things about Vyse, Modulus & Amp Builder on here.
Just looking for any recommendations, pitfalls, lessons learned etc. Which one are epic and which ones are a bit meh.

I looking to go with something less than 20 watts and I am open to any type of amp really.

I’m proficient at wiring, soldering, understanding circuits etc as I am an electrical engineer by trade although not for the last 15 years.

Something that could be modified my be-handy for future messing.

Thanks

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• John_AJohn_A Frets: 3775
    Modulus stuff is great quality and very well priced IMO, you can’t go wrong!  Just need to decide what type of amp you want, but the 18w Marshall clones are great for future modding
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • KalimnaKalimna Frets: 1540
    Its a little beyond 20W, but the JTM50 Black Flag from Modulus is all kinds of awesome. Very mod-able, but on the loud side. 

I canno
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    I suppose it depends on what type of amp you want to end up with. 

To my knowledge no one does an AB763 kit but Ceriatone will give you at least 10 different Dumble clone options, plus a load of tweed Fenders, Matchless Trainwreck and Hiwatt. 

Modulus seem to have the Marshall circuits covered. 

Personally I'd recommend Ceriatone as I've built three of them and they are all excellent, but I started with an Ampmaker SE5 as the instructions were excellent but I was a lot greener than you when I started. 
  • Modulus_AmpsModulus_Amps Frets: 2576
    tFB Trader

Posting this as a member, not a supplier