How much difference is there between 00 and 000 sound?

What's Hot
JamesC01JamesC01 Frets: 11
edited February 2021 in Acoustics
Yesterday I ordered a sigma 00m-15, and just my luck, they sent a 000m-15. I like the size more than I thought I would, but it's a bit boomier than I would've liked. The only experience I have with acoustic guitars is an old dreadnaught, a yamaha c40 classical guitar, and now this 000m-15. I'm wondering if I'm just not used to how bass-heavy acoustic guitars are, since I've mostly been playing on an unplugged squier strat, or if the guitar is actually a bit too boomy. Also, what's the difference in overall volume between the two?

So to the title: how much difference is there between 00 and 000 size? Is it a big difference, or is it quite subtle? I suppose this is the problem with buying online without trying it out. I plan on using it for a bit of everything. I'm a beginner, and I'm interested plenty of different areas, basic strumming, picking individual notes (lead guitar, I suppose), and a bit of fingerstyle, is 000 better suited for that, or 00, or again, is the difference negligible?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I’m not an expert on Sigma guitars, but I am a fan of smaller bodied acoustics.  There are so many variables in acoustic guitar manufacturing that it’s difficult to answer your question.  Smaller bodied acoustics tend to be more focussed on mid-range, as opposed to, say, Dreadnaughts, that have a wider smoother response.  The result is that they tend to be quite punchy for fingerstyle,  but can be harsh when it comes to strumming.  I think this might be what you’re experiencing.  Obviously your ears and your own preferences play a big part as well.  I imagine someone on here will be able to give you a better answer.
  • droflufdrofluf Frets: 3691