Upgrade from beginner Guitar

What's Hot
Hello 
I’ve been learning for 2 years now on a Yamaha F310 which I had professionally set up. 
I was wondering how much would you have to spend to get a noticeable upgrade. 
What was your ‘ second guitar’ and was it worth it. 
Thanks in advance. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TheMadMickTheMadMick Frets: 241
    It's a bit like the question "How many guitars do you want?"

Response "One more than you currently have?"

Depends what you're after in terms of both sound and longevity.
  • andymoandymo Frets: 11
    Depends how much you wanna spend, if you want something very different, what you wanna play etc. etc etc.

But I'd suggest around £500 gets you to the next level
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • munckeemunckee Frets: 12397
    You will always get more value for money buying used.  I upgraded from a solid top Simon & Patrick to an all solid guild Westerley which I paid £450 for used and is a noticeable step up in quality and you can really hear the difference.
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • KilgoreKilgore Frets: 8600
    edited August 2021
    I would spend some time thinking about what styles/genres of music you enjoy playing. It may or may not influence the type of guitar (in terms of size, shape, brand, etc) that you choose. 

As always the best advice is to go and try as many guitars as you can to find out what you're drawn to. 

• DavidRDavidR Frets: 750
    You'll get some good advice from forum. Don't get rid of the Yamaha though. Lots of people subsequently regret not keeping their first instrument. Good Luck. Have fun. Try before you buy if you can.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • I would think about , what you like  musically ,who inspires you , what would meet your playing needs ?