Writing remotely

What's Hot
My bandmate and I want to get back into some writing sessions and due to living 20 miles away from each other and other commitments, adding an extra half a day out of the house on top of a weekly rehearsal isn’t really doable. 

So, I’ve suggested trying FaceTime or similar to get some ideas down. We both have macs, interfaces and the ability to record direct. I am a complete novice when it come to recording but can throw a track onto GarageBand etc.

Does anyone do similar? Any tips?
Good deals with: handsomerick, majorscale, gassage, sticker, smudge_lad, anglian, edinfield99, thewiddler, thomfripp, notonlybutalso, JDE, chebellanga
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Not done writing in this way, but jamming online over SonoBus has been really productive. Even recorded an album over it with their built in recording function. Decent latency depending on the connection etc.
  • spark240spark240 Frets: 2084
    edited November 2021
    Generally remote collabs are flawed with latency issues, ..the frustration outweighs the benefits for me...I just send files back and forth via Wetransfer....much more productive.

Mac Mini M1
    Presonus Studio One V5
     https://www.studiowear.co.uk/ -
     https://twitter.com/spark240
     Facebook - m.me/studiowear.co.uk
    Reddit r/newmusicreview 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • IMC1980IMC1980 Frets: 145
    Agree with @spark240; best way would be to get your ideas down in your DAW and send the WAVs over to your friends via WeTransfer or similar. I have done a fair chunk of an album with a couple of guys from this forum and that process has worked well for collaborating.