R&B Soul - Cornell Dupree, Steve Cropper

What's Hot
I’ve been getting very into the music of players like Cornell Dupree and Steve Cropper. i just love all of those double stops and sixths played all over the board, they way they hold the groove and remain melodic.

Technique-wise I find that I am often not playing these songs as crisply and creanly as I’d like.  Being self-taught and having returned to the guitar more seriously just a few years ago I am certain there are gaps in how I approach this stuff. I am hoping to take some lessons soon…

But in the meantime, does anyone have any tips or suggestions for approaching this style? Perhaps some exercises or lessons.

i hace found great videos from Adrian at Anyone Can Play Guitar on youtube and also Eric Haugen’s channel, but any other thoughts, tips, words of wisdom, or resources would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Watch some of Josh Smiths videos, for example..

https://youtu.be/XECUVxTWE-s
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • 545454545454 Frets: 184
    edited December 2021
    This guy has lots of great soul guitar videos

• NPPNPP Frets: 236
    545454 said:
    This guy has lots of great soul guitar videos

first YT channel I subscribed to

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • Dupree did an instructional book a few years ago, it’s on Amazon. Seems to have some nice reviews. 

Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
  • LewyLewy Frets: 4213
    I recall Kirk Fletcher put a nice video on Youtube on "fatback" guitar and an accompanying Spotify playlist too.
  • Thanks to everyone for the suggestions, these are great. Please do keep them coming!
  • My favourite source for anything Soul/Funk/R&B is Tasty Guitar. He's a great player obvs, but more importantly his video tutorials are super-easy to follow.

TastyGuitar.com - YouTube