High action...

What's Hot
MonkeyboneMonkeybone Frets: 275
edited August 2014 in Acoustics
Rather than fork out money I don't have on a Taylor 150e 12 string (one of which, typically, the singer in my band has just bought), I've decided to try to sort out the 12 string I already have. When I first got it it was surprisingly easy to play, but now the action is ridiculously high. I am a total novice when it comes to acoustic maintenance, would adjusting the truss rod remedy this? And if so, how careful do I have to be to avoid neck breakage?

My band - Crimson on Silver  For sale - Blackstar HT-5S

Gear - Guitars, amps, effects and shizz. Edited for Phil_aka_Pip, who is allergic to big long lists.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• sweepysweepy Frets: 4203
    First things first, check to see how much of the white plastic/bone saddle is sting proud of the wooden bridge, if there is more than 4mm etc there is a good chance you can sand the base down on a flat surface, It might be worth asking about if there is a local tech though, as he'd also recut the nut slots etc etc and make it far more playable.
  • FelineGuitarsFelineGuitars Frets: 11637
    tFB Trader
    First put a capo on at the first fret
    Then hold the strings down at the 14th fret 
    There should be little or no gap under the strings and the top of the 7th fret
    If there is a fair gap then the truss rod will possibly help.

If there is no gap but the action without holding the strings down is high then you may need to resort to lowering the bridge saddle

Many guitars have a re-sale value. Some you'll never want to sell.
    Stockist of: Earvana & Graphtech nuts, Faber Tonepros & Gotoh hardware, Fatcat bridges. Highwood Saddles.

Pickups from BKP, Oil City & Monty's pickups.

Expert guitar repairs and upgrades - fretwork our speciality! www.felineguitars.com.  Facebook too!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom