Playing faster advice

What's Hot
I have been playing for years - pretty much self taught all the time - mainly learnt just by playing with other guitarists in that time. In my electric playing I'd say I'm more of a "feel" sort of player - my theory is rubbish but I do ok and get by fine. My playing is probably best described as slow/sensitive blues. I've never been interested in shredding but I would like to be able to play faster.

In trying to play faster (aside from just lots of practice) is it best to focus on the left hand and hammer-ons etc or to focus on my right picking hand? Or is it just a case of doing both and just trying to play a lick and gradually get faster until it clicks? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• bwetsbwets Frets: 162
    All about good form, efficiency and staying relaxed (for both the left and right hands). Make sure to keep the tempo comfortable enough to maintain your technique.
    There's plenty of excerices for finger independence out there that might help too.
  • bwets said:
    All about good form, efficiency and staying relaxed (for both the left and right hands). Make sure to keep the tempo comfortable enough to maintain your technique.
    There's plenty of excerices for finger independence out there that might help too.
    Thanks. Part of the problem (I think) is that my fingers don't bend smoothly - they tend to click more, which they've always done, so I wonder if that effects somehow the smooth movement. I probably do need to find some good exercises. So many are just aimed at shredders though
  • LewyLewy Frets: 4213
    edited January 2022