School me on smaller bodied guitars

What's Hot
I have very little experience of owning anything but dreadnoughts. Being physically big enough to handle a dread, there's been no reason for me to play anything smaller. Every time I hear people talk about smaller bodied guitars they say things like "sounds much bigger than it is" or "its volume belies its proportions" leading me to the misconception that they are a compromise for people who can't get their arm over a real guitar.

That said, I play with quite a light touch these days and can't help but think I'd like something more responsive and suited to that kind of playing. However, a lot of the demos I've seen seen of smaller guitars sound lovely when picked, but go to shit when strummed.

So what's out there that I should be considering for mainly flatpicking with quite a light touch and a heavy pick that can also handle the occasional "Pinball Wizard" moment?

I'm not interested in anything with a cutaway or side mounted controls.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TanninTannin Frets: 5497
    edited January 2022
    Guitar tops are just like speaker cones. Making them smaller and lighter makes them more detailed and responsive and sensitive - but it makes them easier to drive into clipping and distortion if you push too hard. (It's not just an analogy, it is the same physics.) 

So what you need, if you are going to go smaller at all, is something more in the Australian style than the American style - something you can hit hard in those Pinball Wizard moments. Of course, the very strength that makes it able to take those big chords without clipping also limits the amount of sensitivity you can extract from it. There is no free lunch.