How to "unlearn"

What's Hot
So I've been playing for over 30 years and have probably picked up some bad habits and tend to fall into the well trodden path.

If I'm ever going to use these damn fiddles again does anyone have any tips on how to unlearn those overused moves and reset the muscle memory?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Switch625Switch625 Frets: 583
    Sorry couldn't resist posting this

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • CarpeDiemCarpeDiem Frets: 291
    Book some guitar lessons so that the tutor can assess your playing, and help to correct anything that would make you play better.

Try learning new material which is a different style/genre than you would usually play.

Join a band as playing with others is the best way to take you out of your comfort zone, and you can learn a lot in the process.
  • relic245relic245 Frets: 962

This is about changing habits. First you have to be specific.

What is the reality (the current situation)
    What do you want instead? 

Start doing the new behaviour to wire it in - it will be tough at first. 

An example is "I have a bad habit of wrapping my thumb over the top of the neck on an F barre chord" **

What I want instead is to use my index finger to do the barre. At first it will be hard, your fingers wont want to go there. You may even have to physically position your hand. With repetition this becomes the new norm. 

It's no different with anything you want to change. 

What is the unwanted behaviour (the more specific the better)
    What do you want the new behaviour to be (the more specific the better)

Start doing it. 

** I'm not arguing the merits of using finger over the wrap around method - it's just an example. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • merlinmerlin Frets: 6682
    DMT may help....  ;)
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom