Guild or Alvarez?

What's Hot
dazzajldazzajl Frets: 5790
If you were comparing similar spec guitars from these two, would you expect one to be a generally better instrument than the other? We’re talking solid top, laminate, Far Eastern made, pickup/pre-amp level of the food chain. Guild a little north of £500, Alvarez a little south of £400. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TanninTannin Frets: 5523
    I have limited experience in that price range, but from the few I've played, much of a muchness. You are unlikely to get a real dud from either company.
  • munckeemunckee Frets: 12415
    There is an all solid guild on here for £500 I have one from the same series and it’s a lovely guitar. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • TheMadMickTheMadMick Frets: 244
    If you would be prepared to look at something else, I have a Yamaha AC3R, all solid wood, for sale in Acoustics£.
  • dazzajldazzajl Frets: 5790
    I appreciate the heads up on lovely things here. I didn’t put the models I’ve been looking at because I wanted more of a general overview on quality, feel and QC. As we all know, these are very variable at this shallow end of the acoustic gene pool. 

I wasn’t trying to be secretive or go fishing but I probably should have started out saying I’m looking at the 8 string baritones. Not something where there’s a lot of choice. 
  • MellishMellish Frets: 947
    I'd always say go to a store, try what guitars interest you. Inspect them.

Yes, you can buy online, with the option of returning. Many on the forum have done  and been happy with their purchase, but trying before buying means you can check it out for tone, playability, possible issues :) 
  • CirrusCirrus Frets: 8495