Sad sale

What's Hot
TanninTannin Frets: 5524
edited July 2022 in Acoustics
I see an ad on one of the Maton Facebook groups from a bloke selling his 1997 Australian Custom Deluxe. The chap says he has MS and no longer has the finger dexterity to play at all, so he is selling his much-loved guitar. It had a few scratches and dings and quite a bit of play wear but is otherwise in good nick, he says. 

Further, he says "this is no ordinary A80 Australian. After contacting Maton and sending photos, they have told me in the email (attached) that it is a “one off”. It differs in various minor details from the factory standard model. Maton aren't sure if it is Queensland Maple or Blackwood because it was factory-stained, but probably QM.

Yep, it's a good guitar. Yep, it's a one-off. Yep, it's worth more than the standard one would be. He is asking $4,400.

Now I'm no Maton expert, but I've bought a lot of guitars and sold a few; I'm familiar with most Maton models and have a rough idea of what they go for. My best guess is that the guitar is worth between $1500 and $2000, but it might be less. (Obviously, less if the condition isn't what it seems.)

Maton do a lot of one-off models, there is nothing unusual about that. Hell, I've got one myself. My cedar dreadnought is a limited edition custom special. A standard 2014 SRS-60C is worth about $1500, I reckon I could get $1950 for mine, which is in near-perfect condition. (A brand-new one, factory standard, is about $1800.) 

The advertised one, like mine, is not a hand-made Custom Shop Maton, just a factory-made one-off. Custom Shop ones start at about $6000 new and used ones about what you'd expect from that.