Taking up drums in middle age

What's Hot
I quite fancy taking up the drums.  Always have done if I'm honest.

Thing is, I'm hardly a young whipper-snapper anymore and personal time is limited too.

So, how feasible is it that I could take up drums and reach a reasonable competence and standard of playing?

I suppose that's like asking how long the proverbial piece of string is, but hopefully the gist of the query is coming through.

At the moment it's all academic as I don't think I have anywhere to place a drum kit in the house and I haven't told the wife yet, lol.

There is no 'H' in Aych, you know that don't you? ~ Wife

Turns out there is an H in Haych! ~ Sporky

Bit of trading feedback here.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33805
    edited October 2022
    I started drums about 12 years ago.
    I took it seriously, had lessons, worked hard.
    I've been gigging primarily as a drummer for the last 7 years or so.

The issue is 'where do you practice'?
    An acoustic drum set at home is loud and electronic kits suck.
    I've had two different high end Roland kits and never again.

The way to do it is to buy a Yamaha Stage custom (used is better but they are only £600 new), a decent hardware pack (again, Yamaha are good), some Zildjian low volume cymbals and triple mesh heads for the kit.

That way you can play at low volume without annoying too many people.
    It won't 'sound' like a drum kit but you can do all the work you need to to get decent.

Then get another kit for gigging, so you don't have to swap heads all the time.

Playing drums is awesome- you are the band's engine room.
    If you suck, the band sucks.
    It is physical, good exercise and great for musicianship overall.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • mrkbmrkb Frets: 6896
    edited October 2022