How to learn to play

What's Hot
Not sure if this makes sense but I'm about 5 years into learning to play. Did Grades 2-4. Can play a handful of songs semi-competently and forgotten another handful. Know a few scale shapes and note positions. Can execute a good selection of techniques to some degree. Have played in front of people a couple of times and enjoyed it. So I'm not a rank beginner but not sure if really intermediate. Anyway, what I'd love to do is be able to lose myself in playing. Just pick up a guitar and play, maybe with a backing track, maybe just to myself. No idea how to learn to do that! Any guidance?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• blobbblobb Frets: 2960
    Couple of mates, drums, bass, whatever, play along with others. Failing that Trio + (without trying to sound like a stuck record), you know that saying 'dance like nobody is watching'? Same. It's not perfect but you can plug headphones in and play like nobody is listening. Make all your mistakes there, eventually you find out what works / what doesn't. 
    Feelin' Reelin' & Squeelin'
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • drpbierdrpbier Frets: 226
    Wow, hadn't heard of that? How would you incorporate that into a rig?
    edited October 2022
    Oh, should have said...I don't want to jam with others as I don't feel comfortable enough and wouldn't want to do pentatonic runs over blues progressions. I can imagine getting lost doing a Steve Cropper or Leo Nocentelli groove (badly)
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8714