New to being in a band, some questions

What's Hot
Hey,

I've been playing guitar for a good while now. Probably a touch over 12 years, pretty much all self taught except a few months in the middle where I had a lesson once a week. I’m definitely not as good as I could be for the time I’ve been playing. 

However, I’ve recently joined a band and I’m having a great time! But there’s a few things I can’t quite get to grips with. 

First, the band was established before I joined. They have an EP out, which I learned how to play entirely and that’s fine. I can play along to that playing my parts for practice and that works well. But we have a handful of new songs that aren’t recorded yet. I know the riffs and the general skeleton of the songs but I’m not sure how I’m supposed to practice these ones without something to use as a reference point. The structures are also still pretty fluid and not much of the songs are “tied down” so I feel like if I practice one riff in a certain way, it might not be relevant in future if we change the idea. 

Second, I suck at coming up with new riffs. I can think of good stuff to go over the top of riffs, I can play super distorted droning stuff, I can approximate a riff based on an idea someone hums or sings but coming up with my own just doesn’t happen. Has anyone got any advice here? The band also plays in a tuning I don’t usually use so I’m not familiar with scale shapes etc, even though that’s hardly an excuse because in tunings I am familiar with I still can’t write riffs. 

If I learn songs in that tuning or the band’s style, I can get those down pretty tight but the ideas I’ve learned for that song don’t transfer to writing my own material. 

Thanks guys! 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DannyPDannyP Frets: 1677
    Can you let us know the style of music and whether you're the only guitar player in the band? What's the line up?
  • PLOPPLOP Frets: 293
    edited November 2022