Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

EADGCF is more fun.

What's Hot
I'm not really a guitarist, I'm a bassist who just wants to have fun on guitar.

The stupid irregular third thing in standard tuning was annoying, so I just said sod it, and tuned it in 4ths all the way up, and honestly I think I'm just gonna do this from now on.

I get that I won't be able to play big 6 string chords as easily, but I don't really play them anyway because they are hard. Lol.

Just thought I'd check in with proper guitarists - any famous players who do this? Anyone else on here doing it? What are the disadvantages I'm missing?

I kind of like the idea of just doing my own thing, even if it's wrong, and my musical aesthetic is very much about not seeing limitations as limiting. All my favourite musicians are weird and janky.
0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RolandRoland Frets: 8760
    It depends whether you’re playing single notes or chords.
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Roland said:
    It depends whether you’re playing single notes or chords.
    Single notes, double stops, and power chords.

Just what I do on bass really, only smaller.
  • LastMantraLastMantra Frets: 3825
    edited December 2022
    The main obvious disadvantage as far as I can see is you'd be learning differently to other guitar players so it might make things difficult if you wanted to play with others or learn other people's tunes. Might be easier for you now, but harder in the long run.
    No reason why you can't make decent music like that though.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom