Guitar lute refinish.

What's Hot
I have got a fifty year old German made Perle Gold guitar lute that I would like to refinish. Would a gentle rub down with fine steel wool and finish with true oil bring back the lustre? I have never used true oil before,is it easy to handle? I refinished an old mandolin years ago but used a fine brush on lacquer which turned out pretty good but the lute is a lot bigger project and I don't want to cock it up. Any serious advice will be gladly received. Thanks.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MellishMellish Frets: 947
    With an instrument of that age, I'd want to take great care with it mate, so I'd be looking around for a pro to restore it.

Just what *I'd* do.

:) 
  • bluecatbluecat Frets: 585
    Thanks Mellish my friend for that. The instrument is worth quite a lot of £' s
    I am quite handy with various wood finishes over the years. I am prepared to spend as long as it takes to get it right,as long as I know what is the right finishing medium that is recommended.
    edited January 2023
    But you said you don't want to "Cock it up", so I took from that that you're not sure and, if that's the case, I'd say don't attempt it yourself mate.

Anyway, off to a gig. See what the guys say. Good luck.

• LastMantraLastMantra Frets: 3825
    If it's worth a lot of money you sure you want to refinish it?
    edited January 2023
    But you said you don't want to "Cock it up", so I took from that that you're not sure and, if that's the case, if say don't attempt it yourself mate.

Anyway, off to a gig. See what the guys say. Good luck.

EDIT: Sorry for double post

I think I will take your advice on that for the moment Mellish,I will give it a good clean and polish and see if it brings back some of its former glory.
    Thanks.
    edited January 2023
    bluecat said: