Studio recording methods for guitar band?

What's Hot
We are planning to go to a small recording studio for a weekend to record one song as a 5 piece band. It will be the type of setup where the owner does the recording/mixing/mastering all himself.

I've never done this before, what are the usual methods/process for recording the individual instruments? 
Would drums be done first, then used as a backing track to record guitars against? 
Or is playing to a click track expected now?
Is recording all the instruments/vocals live (but isolated) ever done these days, or is that the preserve of larger studios? 

I'd really like to record guitar against the drum track, as it's the drums I listen to when playing live for timing/groove - I just have no idea what the norm is. 
Any advice at all on recording studios would be gratefully received - cheers!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• StuckfastStuckfast Frets: 2417
    You're arguably looking at this the wrong way round. You are the paying client. The engineer is providing a service. He or she should be doing it the way you want! So if you'd prefer to track everything live, it's up to them to make that possible. If they can't do it the way you want to do it, and they can't provide a good reason why not*, you should take your custom somewhere else. Same deal as regards click track, headphone monitoring and so on.

If you're asking because you don't really know how you want to do it, then depending on the style of music, I'd suggest attempting to lay down the basic tracks live but with the amps reasonably isolated from the drum kit. That way you can keep the live guitar and bass takes if they're good or easily replace them if not. 

At any rate I'd suggest talking to the engineer beforehand to establish what everyone's expectations are.