Capos and Barre Chords

What's Hot
spev11spev11 Frets: 329
Sorry if this is a daft question, I'd say I'm a confused beginner/average guitarist (some stuff I find easy , other stuff not so) I rarely use a capo ( i've only ever used it to not have to barre) but I'm learning a song that uses entirely Barre Chords but all the online music I find for it calls for a Capo at the 2nd fret. Surely if I'm playing Barre chords it negates the Capo ? (it sounds like it to me but I know my tinitus riddled ears are probably not helping)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• StuckfastStuckfast Frets: 2412
    If literally all the chords are barre chords then yes, the capo is irrelevant. But it's nice to be able to throw in an open chord every so often just to give your left hand a rest...
  • spev11spev11 Frets: 329
    edited February 2023
    I’m glad It wanst me, thought I was going bonkers
    ta
  • JerkMoansJerkMoans Frets: 8794
    Unless it's something about the capo changing the tone or some equal lunacy.  I'm sure there's a few Big Star songs that require on to tune the guitar down a few steps, and then capo it, which always seemed slightly Hornchurch to me...
    Inactivist Lefty Lawyer
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • BillDLBillDL Frets: 7247
    The benefit you have with a capo and "open chords", rather than tying up all your fingers with barre chords, is that you have more freedom to play some wee frilly bits or moving bass lines with your spare fingers.  Many years ago I cut out some bits of the rubber on two old capos so the strings weren't being fretted by the capo at those points, and was able to create open tunings without actually retuning the guitar.  I can't for the life of me remember where I made the cuts on each of the capos or what the resultant tunings were, but I would guess that there will now be some commercial products that allow you to do much the same.