Compressor or Limiter required?

What's Hot
pintspillerpintspiller Frets: 994
I've been playing guitar and bass for over thirty years. Recorded some and played in bands off and on.

I gave up on playing guitar in public a long time ago as I found it much easier to join/form bands as a bassist. I was a pick only kind of guy up until about ten years and have been using pick or fingers since.

The problem I have is volume differences between the two, as I seem to play harder using fingers than a plectrum. I've tried playing closer to the bridge as that doesn't seem to be as loud, but it's not easy to remember all the time.

I used a compressor years ago to even out volume on different strings when I played a shitty plywood P-bass, but never sure if it actually worked or not (I was drunk or stoned half the time in those days).

I've been thinking about using pedal(s) to help sort the problem. What is the thoughts of the forum? I have a compressor made by Locobox from 1980s with Level and Sensitivity controls and a Belcat Vintage Compressor with Attack, Sustain and Level. 

Or is a Limiter a better idea?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 24279
    This is the main reason I use one too. At a gig I will be swapping between fingers, pick, and slap and the different volumes are massive.

I use a Boss BC-1X. It's awesome (so good I sold my Cali76 and others) but it's quite an expensive pedal.

Try the ones you have. 

The main problem with compressors is that different companies name the knobs a bit differently. Sometimes Sustain is the Ratio of the compression and sometimes it is the Threshold when compression starts. On some pedals with a Threshold control it might be named Input instead.

Attack is usually the time for when it kicks in. Level is often the make up gain boost to get a compressed signal back up to a level you want.