Guitar Teachers - what is your approach?

What's Hot
I’ve been teaching guitar professionally for about 15 years. It’s been a long learning curve and sometimes I think I’ve cracked it, and sometimes I realise how far I have to go. 

I work in school with children aged from 6 - 13, but have taught older teenagers and young adults as well. 

In school, we (there are 3 other guitar teachers) tend to start them on classical, with rest stroke technique, reading notation and often then move over to electric after a couple of years, at which point they generally start reading tab and trying to play with a plectrum.

I’d be interested to know what approach other teachers here take, and if any teach in schools? What do you think about starting on classical vs steel string, fingers vs pick, reading vs tab etc?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10416
    edited June 2023
    I don't teach in schools ... too regimented time wise but I have taught kids from 8 to 15 as well as adults. For the youngest I start them off on nylon as it's easier on their fingers. Older kids tend to be focussed on electric from the start so we get straight in that. 
    I teach hybrid picking from the get go. Not popular I know amongst other teachers but it's the best way to play the guitar in my opinion so it seems pointless to teach them normal plectrum style THEN have to introduce hybrid picking later ...might as well get to it from the start. 

I don't allow any tab or even any reference to fret numbers. I teach them the notes on the fretboard and then we do everything in notes.