Eyes Closed

What's Hot
I've been playing at learning, for on and off 50 years and usually ended up frustrated and "leaving it for a while" only to pick it up and trying again.  For the first time, yesterday, I shut my eyes!  My shoulders relaxed and I found that I was hitting the notes without looking to see that my fingers were in the correct place.  For the first time, in years, I put the guitar down, after playing, and didn't have a pain in the neck!  Ahhhhhhh!......... and breathe!  :)
0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• maharg101maharg101 Frets: 690
    That's great, glad you've found something that works. All that practice paid off if you can play without looking at the neck. 

Posture is very important. Whatever feels relaxed to you is the correct approach.
    This one goes to eleven

Trading feedback here
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • vizviz Frets: 10699
    Playing in front of a mirror is pretty insightful too
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • fastonebazfastonebaz Frets: 4106
    viz said:
    I end up playing everything backwards when I do that. 
    5reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • StrumitStrumit Frets: 46
    edited October 2023
    viz said:

Mirrors?  I avoid them these days! Thank you for the advice though!  All is appreciated.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    viz said:
    I end up playing everything backwards when I do that. 
    https://youtube.com/shorts/C2C4ccId-W8?feature=shared
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.