guitar simulator and play along total newbie

Hi all ,been playing 35 years  always guitar amp etc.
Finally considering how to play through computer , I know I need an interface and then software  any recommendations - guitar rig / aoplitube etc and why?  decent speakers for computer ( mac) ? do I need an amp?
I would also love to be able to play along to tracks on software  - is this possible - is there one where you can lay down chords and the software  adds drums etc?
One where you can play your guitar but it converts to bass?
If I wanted to lay down very basic drums . bass guitar , chords myself  to play along to any recommenations?
Do i need separate software
sorry - I haven't got a clue about this stuff
Just play the guitar or play along to a cd!!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• fnptfnpt Frets: 746
    My suggestion would be to look into a multi fx which would also work as an interface. There are several options depending on your budget but look at the helix stomp or a boss gt1000 core, or if on a lower budget have a look at the several offerings from hotone. All connect via usb into the pc.

you can then play to any music you have on your pc or on YouTube.
    ____
    "You don't know what you've got till the whole thing's gone. The days are dark and the road is long."
  • edited January 10
    I would recommend you get hold of a guitar to USB cable (probably cost about ten quid on ebay for one of these) so you can get your guitar audio into your computer, and then maybe take a look at Odesi Music Composition, which you can either buy via Steam (I'd recommend acquiring it that way since it is only £35 quid on Steam) or you can buy it direct, but that is usually nearer 45 quid, so the Steam route is cheaper and probably less hassle. It works on 32 Bit and 64 Bit operating systems, so no fancy expensive computer is necessary to run it.