Harley Benton P Bass Kit

What's Hot
Hi Everyone

I've been told that Santa will be dropping off the above guitar kit on Christmas morning !!  I have been going on about doing a kit build forever so really keen to get started and I've had some ideas......but very little practical experience so was hoping to get some help as a complete beginner.

Initially I wanted to recreate something similar to the Squier Contemporary P Bass, spraying the body white and headstock black, but with no experience, no suitable outdoor space/workshop, I figured this might be too difficult.

So I thought about staining, using some water based stain....not sure on colour yet.  I've since read that the HB kits are finished with sealer that will need to be sanded off before staining.  I don't mind taking my time with this build and doing the necessary sanding, but I'm not sure on a suitable process

My thoughts are to

1. Sand the body with 120 grit, get rid of dust, then sand with 220 grit, then 320 grit.
2. Damp the body to check for remaining sealer.
3. Apply the stain
4. Sand back the raised grain with 320 and apply another coat of stain.

A couple of questions I have are

1. How many times would I need to sand back the raised grain ?  Will it eventually stop rising up out of the surface ?
2. What would be a good way to seal the stain, ideally with a more glossy finish ?  

Any pointers would be great.  This is a learning project so mistakes are likely but I like to get a plan together first before jumping in.

Thanks
Matthew

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14430
    edited December 2023
    Why not simply apply a wipe-on finish onto the existing clear sealing coats? This way, you could always change the colour in future.

Chances are that the kit body will not have especially attractive grain. The joins between the individual sections of wood might be better concealed beneath an opaque finish: