What delay for Frippertronics?

oh_pollooh_pollo Frets: 845
Since I can't get my hands on a couple of Revox tape machines, what's a good delay pedal to get for that "No Pussyfooting" sound-on-sound effect? Apparently you need a delay with at least 4 seconds of delay available to get into Frippertronics territory and definitely a delay not a looper.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• steamabacussteamabacus Frets: 1266
    The one that springs to mind is the Strymon Volante though I have no personal experience of using it. Does it have enough delay time? It definitely does sound-on-sound.
  • steamabacussteamabacus Frets: 1266
    edited January 8
    If software is an option there is an old VST called Elottronix (and it's free). Based on Fripp's revox setup.

• Wardy66Wardy66 Frets: 6
    edited January 8
    Loads out there - delays not loopers:
    A few spring to mind:
    Eventide Rose - 50 second delay
    Meris LVX - 5 second delay
    HX Stomp or HX One - (8 second delay) this does loops which fade out with each repeat so double good.
    Strymon El Capistan and Volante - SOS looping mode
    Chase Bliss Habit - 60 second delay
    Soma Cosmos - weird multiple long delays
    DD-500 I think
    Empress Echosystem - 10 second delay
    TC Flashback - 8 second delay I think , plus Triple delay has three lots of this.
    Eventide Ultratap - 10 second delay

• GrangousierGrangousier Frets: 2641
    The SOS mode in the Volante works really well for it. 
  • KeefyKeefy Frets: 2286
    TC Flashback Mini does 7 seconds of delay. If only someone were selling one in the classifieds…
  • english_bobenglish_bob Frets: 5157
    Wardy66 said:
    Loads out there - delays not loopers:
    A few spring to mind:
    Eventide Rose - 50 second delay
    Meris LVX - 5 second delay
    HX Stomp or HX One - (8 second delay) this does loops which fade out with each repeat so double good.