Practice Amp Conundrum

What's Hot
neutron619neutron619 Frets: 0

Hello Chaps,

I'm a noob here on the forum and with respect to playing a 6-string so I'm hoping to get some advice from more experienced folk about what to do in the situation I find myself. I think I might want to buy a new amp of some kind, but I'm an untalented guitarist and not experienced enough to know how to weigh up the factors involved.

Quick sit-rep:

• I'm a bassist by trade and play in a small trio band and the local church band. I play a little guitar (badly!) when I have to - e.g. to fill in some rythym / strumming if that's more helpful than bass on any given Sunday.
  • My daughter is currently learning guitar and flying along with it. I'm doing my best to encourage her.
  • I have a couple of guitar amps I've picked up over the years - a small Marshall Practice amp (10W, I think) and a Fender Champion 100.
    • I don't like the Marshall amp - it's small, nasal and boxy (but I got it for free). It's currently on loan to a friend.
    • I like the Fender amp very much, but it's far too big for home practice - we can't turn it up past 2 on either channel before we risk complaints from the neighbours / blowing the windows out / deafening ourselves. On the other hand, we've been using it quite effectively in both of my bands (in church-sized spaces) and all the relevant guitarists seem to enjoy it. My daughter currently practices on this one.
  • I think I'd like to stop carting the Champion around and just leave it in the church which is far more convenient for both bands' practices.
  • I think I'd then like buy a smaller practice amp for my daughter and I to use at home. 

On that basis, I've been looking at things like

• Fender Champion 20 / 40
  • Fender Mustang LT25
  • Line 6 Spider V 30
  • Line 6 Catalyst 60 

Questions I can't satisfactorily answer:

• I already have a Helix Stomp which I use with both basses and guitars, so do I need to bother with a modelling amp?