Marshall 3210 Lead 100 Mosfet

I have currently acquired a beat up version of this head as a project; its not in the best of shape tbh.

http://i1246.photobucket.com/albums/gg615/bloodandtearsUK/Guitar Stuff/IMG_20141023_213731.jpg

Cosmetically it needs a clean, a new DI level pot, two new Marshall dials, and probably a replacement handle.

It came with a footswitch with LEDs but I am new to this amp and cannot work out what the footswitch should actually toggle??
I was guessing channel (clean/dirty) and boost??  but I have read it is boost and reverb??
It looks like this iirc..
http://cdn1.bigcommerce.com/server3400/wd2ocl/products/1902/images/3356/MARSHALL_M_PEDL_91001__32383.1409781133.1280.1280.jpg?c=2

I am struggling to get the reverb to work and as such think the reverb tank may be bust anyway as is common; any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Hoping to give this amp a blast over the next few weeks with the intention of using it in my AC-DC Angus role.  If I like it, I may look at getting a tidier version, and then a TS9 :-)

My trading feedback

is it crazy how saying sentences backwards creates backwards sentences saying how crazy it is?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72764
    That's the wrong footswitch and may not work - the LEDs interfere with the way the switching operates. You need an older plain footswitch with no LEDs. It switches channel and reverb - there's no 'boost', that's just what Marshall called the dirty channel.

It may not be a faulty reverb tank - there's a nasty known fault with the reverb drive circuit on these, fairly rare but serious and can be difficult to fix. I've never actually come across one with it, but someone on here (HHWarner I think) has. Check the tank impedance at both ends before you buy a new one!

Apart from that it doesn't look in bad shape. I wouldn't bother fixing the DI pot, the DI on these is un-emulated and sounds crap.