Fixing a high fret - a home fix?

What's Hot
I've just got a new (2nd hand) prs tremonti.

1st play and it seemed really well set up.

2nd play and I've spotted that the high E is choking off when I bend at the 12th and 17th frets but no others.

I'm no expert but would assume that means that the 13th and 18th frets are high.

If course I can raise the action but it's pretty perfect as it is.

I have no guitar related tools or experience is this something that I could fix myself of do I really need to take it to a tech?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SteveRobinsonSteveRobinson Frets: 7036
    tFB Trader
    relic245 said:
    I have no guitar related tools or experience 
    Best take it to someone who has both
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 7reaction image Wisdom
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14447
    A Fret Rocker tool would confirm which frets are high (or low). 

Unless you are confident that you know how to remedy the problem, it will be wiser to hand the task over to a professional.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • edited February 23
    You could do it yourself if you grabbed one of those comparatively inexpensive kits off Ebay or similar, but be aware that extremely cheap tools are rarely a good thing. But, having some decent luthier tools would be good if you ever had or wanted to fix your own guitars down the line. If you haven't the inclination to do that sort of thing going forward, it would probably cost you under fifty quid for a techie to sort it for you if it really is only a couple of high frets.

If you want to do it yourself, it's not rocket science, but you will need to buy a few bits and bobs to do it right. If you really want to do it right, practice on a cheap guitar first. But, here's what you do...