Tonewood discussion and lowden use of them

What's Hot
slackerslacker Frets: 2240
Background, skip to next paragraph if bored. I've been playing acoustics since 1976 and owned 5 guitars, 3 I still have. I've played a couple of lowdens and want one. I'm no expert obviously but have some money ready. I'm local to one shop but another more distant has more choice. So two part question to discuss tonewoods...

1 are tonewoods  such as sinker, bog, church pew, viking shield, worth it?
2 are the lowden 50s 38s much better than the standard ones? question 2a where's the sweet spot?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• droflufdrofluf Frets: 3691
    I’m no expert but whilst each tonewood has its own characteristics or “personality” it’s:
    1. Subjective; do you prefer rosewood or mahogany 
    2. Dependant on the specific piece of wood. A good piece of generic hardwood could be better than a bad piece of “the tree”
    3. More to do with the skill of the builder. I’m pretty sure if you gave Lowden/Brook/Sobell/Fylde etc. a stack of laminate and me a supply of the best tonewoods the worst of their instruments would be better than mine. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • TanninTannin Frets: 5451
    To question 2 I have no answer, I lack experience with them. 

To question 1, well a bit yes and a bit no. Sinker or bog timbers are indeed different; the structure of the wood changes and often comes to include mineral deposits. In general, this results in a heavier, harder, stiffer timber, which in turn produces a different sound. A better sound? Matter of taste. And what is the difference between (say) bog oak and a fresh-cut timber from some other species which is naturally harder and heavier and stiffer than oak? Probably not much.   But if Mr Lowden wants to send me a couple of examples to try for myself, well, 
    I'll be only too happy. :)