Changing tuners on D18

What's Hot
ryanverbenaryanverbena Frets: 426
edited March 4 in Acoustics
I bought a used, very beaten up D18 from Gumtree years ago. I absolutely love it, but the previous owner replaced the vintage style tuners with more modern looking chrome schallers. 

Like these:

I used to own a HD28v which had some lovely vintage looking tuners. Can anyone point me in right direction of which ones would be a suitable purchase? 

Like these:

I’m a complete noob in regards to acoustic gear or pros and cons of different tuners, so any wisdom would be great.

Links would be much appreciated! 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BillDLBillDL Frets: 7247
    edited March 6
    Generally speaking, because there are exceptions, the enclosed die-cast tuning machines with washers and hex nuts like Schaller, Grover, etc need a 10mm diameter hole for the threaded collar / bushing to pass through from the headstock face and screw into the body of the tuner mounted at the rear.  Most of the open-gear "Waverly" type tuners use push-in ferrules / bushings as post guides that are usually sized externally for 8mm (sometimes 9mm) diameter holes in the headstock and with a centre hole sized for 6mm posts.  This has always been the dilemma with changing old style tuning machines with push-in ferrules (old Fender Kluson style included) to die-cast tuning machines.  After pushing out the ferrules the holes have to be reamed or drilled out slightly to accommodate the threaded collars and if you ever decided to revert to old style tuning machines you would have to buy conversion push-in bushings that fit a 10mm diameter hole but have a 6mm hole in the middle that fits the shaft, like these:

You can buy conversion bushings if you, for example, bought a set of Kluson or Wilkinson open gear tuners that are designed for an 8mm headstock hole: