Best strings for telecaster?

What's Hot
tonystone82tonystone82 Frets: 0
Hi all, I wondered what your preferences were for strings for a custom 1960’s telecaster?

I’m looking for longevity and snappy tone with good frequency response across the spectrum, but mainly I like the country twang and clean highs. 

I’ve been using Ernie ball 10’s for the last 25 years on strats, but only recently started playing a tele and the Ernie balls just don’t cut it at all, they sound dull and lifeless. I’m on a rosewood board on the tele whereas on the strats I’m on maple so that probably makes a difference overall. 

Anyway just wanted to know of your experiences please…. Thanks
Tony
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• richardhomerrichardhomer Frets: 24812
    D’Addario. I switched to them from EBs in the mid-90s. They start (and remain) brighter than EBs and generally last much longer.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 5reaction image Wisdom
  • rze99rze99 Frets: 2292

Longevity

I've got loads of Teles many of which I've made. I hate changing strings - so boring - so I use Elixr. I don't care whether they are the "best" or not but they work for me. 
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • snowblindsnowblind Frets: 273
    Going to say GHS because they are good on the bends.

... or was that Michelins........?
    Old, overweight and badly maintained. Unlike my amps which are just old and overweight.
    3reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • mudslide73mudslide73 Frets: 3080
    Newtone roundcores on my avri 52.
    "A city star won’t shine too far"

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Fishboy7Fishboy7 Frets: 2200
    I've always used d'addario but recently switched over to Stringjoy and they feel really great. 12s on Gibson and 11s on Fenders for me.
    0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom