Help Requested- T-Rex Replica V1 - Broken - One faint repeat.

byrne347byrne347 Frets: 4
Hi there pedal people. 

I have a V1 Replica (the one with the small "subdivision" and "Brown" buttons). The pedal will turn on but will only faintly let through one repeat, no matter what you do with the repeat or echo time. The Level pot works fine as does the tempo (both the pot and the footswitch change the tempo perfectly. 

On the Echo potentiometer as you turn up past 12 o’clock the output level gets quieter. Which is strange. 

I have measured each potentiometer and they read good on a multi meter. I have also reseated the ribbon cable connecting the two internal PCB boards and checked all the solder joints and wires for bad connections, which there do not appear to be any

I assume one of the components dealing with the echo repeats has gone bad but I’m not an engineer and don’t really know how to test it much more than I have.

Like an idiot I thought I would buy a second broken one on ebay and use the two to make one working pedal, but the second one has exactly the same fault and now I have two broken Replica pedals. Yes, I am aware I am an idiot/ double-down clown.

I emailed T-Rex and they are willing to fix it but for more than the pedal is worth + shipping to Denmark. They also said they could not diagnose the issue from the description I sent them, but it does sound to me like this is a common issue so I would think they could give me some advice. 

It may be as simple as a replacement ribbon cable or someone putting in the wrong power which fried one component I can replace. 

Anyone have any experience with this pedal and what may be the issue? 

Tips on someone in the UK who may be able to fix it for a decent price? 

Any assistance would be very much appreciated. 

Andy

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10414